© About Us

Abergavenny Local History Society has about 350 members.

About Us


Abergavenny Local History Society has about 350 members.

Ken Key, a long-standing member and multi-tasker over the years is now our President. He produced the newsletter for many years.

It is run by a small committee – more people are always needed and they do not need to be on the committee. There are lots of things to do!

You could help with Churchwatch a couple of times a year, help in the garden, supply books and leaflets to shops, operate the audiovisual equipment at talks, help at talks or visits... the list goes on and on. Look at the menu at the side for ideas, or contact us.


Current members of the committee are:

Gill Wakley                        Chairman 

Linda Smith                       Secretary

Marian Senior                    Deputy secretary

Janet Cormack                  Treasurer

Janet Patrick                      Membership Secretary

Helen Morgan                    Lecture and visits team /Publicity

Dai Morgan                        Committee member

Susan Langford-Johnson  Lecture/ Visits Team

Julia Zajicek                       Lecture/Visits Team

Bianca Emberson              Visits administrator

Irene Hofayz                       Publications

Jane White                         Schools Liaison 

Jeanette Butt                      Committee member

Sue Smith                           Research Group Organiser/email letters/floodlighting

Frank Olding                      Co-opted committee member

Rachael Rogers                 Representative from Abergavenny Museum

A few people help with the garden (Friday mornings, weather permitting) and more with Churchwatch (Wednesday afternoons in St Mary Priory Church)

The research group recorded the recent history of the Castle; they transcribed and updated the Street Survey for a new website and have transcribed the Abergavenny Vestry book from the 1700s. They have recorded the gravestones in Hereford Road cemetery, collated historical information about Gunter Mansion and researched the Home Front in World War One in Abergavenny. Currently they are researching Tourism in Abergavenny & District, the run-up to and life in Abergavenny in World War Two and are transcribing the baptisms, marriages and burials from the 17th century at St Mary's - anyone with Latin skills welcomed with open arms!

We have commissioned information boards for Linda Vista Gardens and for the site of the WW1 tank in Bailey Park. We have, with www.historypoints.org , arranged for QR points to be put up around the town marking historical sites. These augment the ceramic illustrated plaques and the blue plaques mentioned elsewhere on this site.


If you would like to help, please contact any committee member or alhs@live.co.uk

Abergavenny Local History Society 
          Charity Number 1098582